MUSIC 3134: Choral Music Literature
Index #93795--Fall Semester 2001--Prof. John R. Howell
12:20-1:10 pm--Squires 162

 

COURSE CALENDAR


3134 Home | Assignments | Syllabus | Calendar | Writing | Instructor

Go to:
Pre-Renaissance
Protestant Renaissance
Pre-Classical & Classical
20th Century to 1945
Final Exam
Early Renaissance
Early Baroque
Early Romantic
Late 20th Century

Catholic Renaissance
High Baroque
Late Romantic
Popular Choral Music

 

 


Pre-Renaissance

Week of Aug 21-Aug 25
Orientation; overview of the course; expectations; first assignments; Web requirements.
Discussion of Pre-Renaissance "choral" music: Chant, early polyphony, mass, motet, isorhythm, English discant and fauxbourdon
Reading: Ulrich Preface and Chapter 1
Specific listening assignments: Stolba 4, 5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14b, 18, 20, 22, 26 (1st 2 minutes), 35a & b, 39
Thinkwork Assignment 1 due Wednesday Aug 23 in class
Webwork Assignment 1 due Friday Aug 25 in class
Quiz on reading Friday Aug 25
Listening quiz next Monday Aug 28

Early Renaissance

Mon Aug 28-Wed Aug 30
Rise of the new Franco-Netherlandish style and "choral" partsinging
Rise of the secular chanson
DuFay, Binchois, Obrecht, Ockeghem, Isaac
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 2
Listening: Stolba 41, 49, 52, 53, 55, 56
Listening quiz Friday

Catholic High Renaissance

Fri Sep 1-Mon Sep 4
Transition from Netherlandish to native composers
Sacred musical style
Willaert, Lasso, Palestrina, Victoria, Tallis, Byrd
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 3
Listening: Stolba 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80
Listening and Composers quiz Friday
Analysis: Josquin, "Ave Maria, gratia plena"
Webwork assignment 2 due Friday

Protestant High Renaissance

Wed Sep 6-Fri Sep 8
Sacred music in the Protestant traditions
Chanson & Madrigal: choral literature?
Tallis, Byrd
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 4 & 5
Listening: Stolba 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80
Listening and Composers quiz Friday Sep 8
Thinkwork assignment 2 due Wed Sep 6 in class
Webwork assignment 2 due Friday Sep 8

Early Baroque

Mon Sep 11-Fri Sep 15
Transition to the Seconda Pratica, basso continuo
Oratorio, Cantata, Passion
Monteverdi, Schütz, Carissimi, Buxtehude, Purcell
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 6
Listening: Stolba 92, 96, 97, 98, 99
Analysis: Purcell, "With drooping wings"
Listening quiz Friday
Webwork assignment 3 due Friday

High Baroque

Mon Sep 18-Fri Sep 29
Cantata, Oratorio, Mass
Bach, Handel, Vivaldi, Rameau, Telemann
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 7
Listening: 114, 115a & b, 118, 119c
Analysis: J.S. Bach, St. John Passion (#1)
Webwork assignment 4 due Friday Sep 22
Thinkwork assignment 3 due Wednesday Sep 27

Pre-Classical & Classical

Mon Oct 2-Wed Oct 11
Mass, Offices, ????????????
Haydn, Mozart, early Beethoven
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 8
Listening: ????????????
Analysis: Mozart, "Ave verum corpus"; C minor Mass K417a (#1)
Webwork assignment 5 due Friday Oct 6
Thinkwork assignment 4 due Wed Oct 11

Early Romantic

Fri Oct 13-Mon Oct 23
Mass, Oratorio, Requiem
Beethoven, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Berlioz
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 9
Listening: ????????????
Analysis: Mendelssohn, "Heilig"
Webwork assignment 6 due Wed Oct 18

Late Romantic

Wed Oct 25-Fri Nov 3
Guest lecture on choral music for children Fri Nov 3
Oratorio, Requiem, Anthem/Motet, Opera Chorus
Brahms, Verdi, Mahler, Bruchner, Liszt, Debussy
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 10
Listening: ????????????
Thinkwork assignment 5 due Wed Nov 1

20th Century to 1945

Mon Nov 6-Mon Nov 13
????????????????????
????????????????????
Reading: Ulrich Chapter 11
Listening: ????????????

Late 20th Century

Wed Nov 15-Wed Nov 29

No class Fri Nov 17 (VMEA Conference)
Break Nov 18-Nov 26

Reading: ??????
Listening: ????????????
Analysis: Krzysztof Penderecki, "Stabat Mater" ????????????????????
Webwork assignment 7 due Wed 11/15
????????????????????

Popular Choral Music in the 20th Century

Friday Dec 1-Wed Dec 6
Glee Club, Fred Waring, Swing Choir, Show Choir, Vocal Jazz Ensemble
????????????????????
Reading: ??????
Listening: ????????????

 

Final Exam

Tue Dec 18 7:45-9:45 am. Can be at a more convvenient time if we can all agree.


3134 Home | Assignments | Syllabus | Calendar | Writing | Instructor